My Love Has Attitude

2014-02-10 14.49.20

I was warned about the “three’s.” My friend said, “They are sooo much worse than the two’s, didn’t I tell you!” Buddy is all attitude! Holy cow!

Sometimes the hardest part about being a parent is keeping a straight face. I got this at the dinner table the other night: “PUT-MY-MILK-DOWN-RIGHT HERE!,” said in a very punctuated and matter-of-fact tone. Eye’s blinking, stifling a smirk, I said, “Don’t talk to your Mommy like that young man!”

Then, after my house was suddenly littered with toys, I told Buddy he needed to clean up and started singing the clean up song. “Don’t sing, don’t sing! I won’t clean up my toys, I don’t know how!” Yes, you do know how. You will clean up or we can give your toys to a little boy who doesn’t have any!

My husband was trying to talk to me about his stressful day. He travels for work and the roads were horrible. “Shhhh Daddy! You need to quiet down, I”m watching TV!” We can turn the TV off if it’s going to be an issue.

Another time, when we were at the grocery store, I let him play some of his games on my phone. “I HATE this game.” OK, then play something else. Again a few minutes later, “I HATE this game!” No problem, and the phone went back into my pocket much to his chagrin.

Of course there are plenty of sweet moments. The other day we went upstairs to use the bathroom. While I was washing my hands I heard a crinkling of a package. “What are you doing?,” I asked. “I have picnic Daddy’s snacks on your bed!”

buddy bed picnic

Then there was another day where he had my leopard-print snuggie wrapped around him. “Oooooo, I’m a scary ghost! Ooooo!” How can you not eat that kid up?!

buddy ghost

Anyway, despite the attitude (I’m really hoping it’s a phase), I love both of the men in my life with all my heart and am so grateful to have them as my Valentine’s.

Buddy love

4 thoughts on “My Love Has Attitude

  1. oh, some of mine have attitude too. Sigh. I’m pretty sure it will be a phase if you keep putting the phone away and clicking the TV off. Some people think it’s cute and laugh at it and even encourage it. My observations have been that it becomes a way of life for those kids. No thank you! Doesn’t sound like that’s what you’re aiming for either. But until it clicks in their little brains…our little Loves will have their attitudes. Happy Valentines Day!

    • Oh yeah, I’m definitely not encouraging it. Sometimes it’s so bold that it surprises the heck out of me and I have to make an effort to put my parent/teacher face on. I think he’s just testing us & he’ll move on to something new before we know it!

    • Oh boy, so the fours are a treat as well! I guess every age brings it’s ups and downs. That’s the joy of parenthood I suppose! I just appreciate my mom so much more! Being a stay-at-home mom with three kids should qualify her for sainthood since I have trouble handling one.

Leave a Reply

