Before and After

Image

When I got married I was 70 lbs. heavier. I had high blood pressure, high cholesterol, pre-diabetes, hypothyroidism and PCOS. I knew that if I wanted to have a family that I needed to get healthy STAT. I had been heavy all of my life and I knew that I couldn’t lose weight the regular way, so I opted for weight reduction surgery. Both my GP and my surgeon said that gastric bypass was the way to go. However, that would put me out of work, I wouldn’t be able to try to get pregnant for three years and having my stomach cut out seemed too drastic. So, I opted for Lapband surgery instead. My cousin had good results with it, there was less risk and less recovery time. I could also get try to get pregnant whenever I wanted.

Fast forward 2 1/2 years and I no longer have high blood pressure, high cholesterol or pre-diabetes. Unfortunately I still wasn’t able to get pregnant and the Lapband has given me so many problems that it has to come out on Thursday. I’m pretty bummed about it. While I have achieved some success, I still have a good 60 lbs. to lose. My husband went for the gastric bypass earlier in the year and looks amazing! He’s lost over 100 lbs. I’ve gone through vomiting, regurgitation, acid reflux, bile come out my nose at night, coughing fits that hurt my chest, etc. It’s gotten to the point that when I had an Upper GI done last week, no barium went past my band at all. That’s with them having taken out all the fluid in the band the day before. My esophagus just isn’t handling it very well.

When I talked to the surgeon afterwards, he said he’d take the band out that night. I thought that was a little drastic, so they put it off a week. I was hoping for a couple of months. I’m just afraid of gaining all of the weight back. I’ve given away all of my fat clothes. As it is I have gained 30 lbs. since April (I had originally lost 100 lbs. total). I do take steps to watch my weight. I walk the dog every day. We eat on dessert sized plates instead of dinner plates. I always choose “light” options. We don’t eat out as much anymore. I’m using the My Fitness Pal App again to keep track of my intake. I might join the gym again, but hate to spend the money when I’m not working. I’m just bummed that I went through all this only for it to fail. The surgeon said that they no longer put Lapbands in because it has only a 9% success rate. Most people end up having it taken out after a few years.

I’d like to get the gastric bypass operation that my husband had such great results with. However, there are a few problems with that. I have to switch surgeons for insurance reasons and I can’t get a consultation until February. I had a job interview yesterday and am hoping to get a job soon (fingers crossed) which would put the surgery off until the summer. My BMI is under 35 which is the cut off point for insurance companies when you want to get gastric bypass done, but sometimes the surgeon will write a letter to help persuade them. Then there is the whole pregnancy issue.

Two weeks ago we renewed our foster care certification. We said we would be interested in another little girl or boy so that Buddy could have a brother or sister. However, the system is so daunting that I really don’t know if I want to go through another couple years of that. But, if it’s our only choice, then I guess I have to do what I have to do.

TPR is all set, just waiting for a court date.

Rescheduled permanency hearing is tomorrow.

Here is us now. Isn’t my hubby handsome!

Image

 

4 thoughts on “Before and After

  1. I had really good success with Medifast (80 lbs in a year) but that was before we got the extra kids, and I put 45 back on. Weightloss and maintenance are crazy hard. Be kind to yourself and do the best you can…

Leave a Reply

