Hummus is Yummus

2013-07-31 23.40.58

I have a confession to make, I know I’m not a food blogger, but I am a foodie who has weight issues, so here is my latest dilemma… I am a hummus addict! It all started a few months back. I was previously on a guacamole kick and was looking to switch gears. I go for more savory foods than sweet. I looked at all the different kinds of hummus: red pepper, artichoke, garlic, black bean and then I saw Greek olive. Mmmm… that sounded good. I wiped out a container in no time flat. I realized my addiction was starting to get expensive as I was buying several containers at a time, so I decided to try and make my own.

If you don’t know, hummus is a creamy spread/dip that is made of chick peas/garbanzo beans. It’s good with veggies, crackers or use it as a spread on a sandwich or wrap. It’s good for you too. It has fiber and protein, but, like all things, should probably be eaten in moderation, unlike me who eats it all day long. I actually had to buy a new food processor because I broke my blender/food processor combo making so much hummus!

I perused the internet and found an awesome and simple hummus recipe from Joanne at Inspired Taste. It calls for tahini which is very expensive, so then I looked up a recipe for that. Anna from Popsugar helped me figure out that it’s basically sesame peanut butter. I’m too lazy to throw the seeds in the oven, so I just throw them in a saute pan on the stove with some cooking spray and it works just fine. Just be conservative with the olive oil. Go light on the salt in the hummus recipe too because canned chick peas are already salty (as are the olives). After I’ve made the hummus, I throw a jar of kalamata olives in the food processor and spread it on top. I have been in hummus heaven ever since. I dip chunks of red and green peppers, sliced carrots and my fav is jicama. If you’ve never tried it before, it’s equally as awesome as hummus. It’s a big tan colored root that taste like a cross between a potato and an apple. Crunchy but a little sweet and soooo good.

Hummus is not for everyone, my husband and Buddy tell me it’s stinky, but I like it and that means more for me! My friend’s six year old’s favorite food is hummus and he eats it on bread. So, if you decide to join Team Hummus and give it a try, be careful or you’ll become an addict like me. I made myself hungry writing this post, so I’m getting some hummus, don’t judge. Next week I’ll get a fill and try to ween myself off of eating so much of the creamy goodness.

Leave a Reply

