Early Summer

Image

Today I was let go at my job. As you know from past posts, I had a feeling I was on my way out and I was really unhappy with my administration. It’s just that no matter how hard I tried to prepare for this day, I was still caught off guard and hoped that it didn’t happen this way.

I pride myself on being a good teacher. I really get to know my kids and their families on a personal level. I’ve been to their homes and I’ve shared their stories. I care about them immensely and have put my heart and soul into my job. I advocate for them and make sure they’re getting what they need. However, when you work at a charter school, there is no such thing as tenure and they can fire you for any reason. They were really grasping at straws when they gave me reasons for my departure and I didn’t entertain them.

I called my husband, asked him to come over and a few faithful friends helped me pack up my 6 years accumulation of crap and I was gone. Yes, I cried and cried and wanted to know how they could treat me like that. I worked my butt off, came in early, stayed late, came in on Saturdays, worked at home, traveled all over the city and beyond, did tons of paperwork and taught kids with no resources. I bask in the knowledge that it will take about 3-4 people to replace me. We didn’t have a testing center and I was forced to cater IEPs to the school instead of the school accommodating the kids. I could give you a list of non-compliance issues, but I won’t.

Tomorrow I have my second round interview in another district. I have five other applications out for job postings and I can send in one more. There will surely be others since the summer has just begun.

I am sad that I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye to my kids. I feel horrible that hey have to go through finals and regents exams without me. It wasn’t my choice to leave them so soon. I hope they know that I will be with them in spirit.

This is a blessing, I know. It’s just hard to put in perspective at the moment with feelings so raw, but I’ll get there. I have an amazing husband, a sweet little boy, supportive family, great friends and this blog. Best of all, I get to start my summer early!

So, say a little prayer, wish upon your lucky stars and hope that better opportunities are on their way for me on my continuously crazy journey.

Photo credit: monkeyc.net / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

8 thoughts on “Early Summer

    • Thanks Courtney! I think they are realizing that already as I’ve heard that my kids have had to advocate for themselves on the testing accommodations they need on their exams, but it’s okay because I’ve taught them well!

  1. Prayers are headed your way…people in the paperwork area sometimes forget what we mean to those still growing, developing, and maturing. They forget about consistency and support. I’m so sorry but hope the next journey is a blessing.

  2. I am a true believer in the theory of “one door shutting means another door opening”. Stay positive and open to the new opportunities that are available to you. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

