Thrifty Shopper

Image

Since yesterday was such a serious post, I thought I’d be a little more light hearted today and talk about why I am a thrift store junky! We have Rescue Mission Thrifty Shopper Stores, Salvation Army stores and a Good Will store in my city and I love hitting a few of them on the weekends.

Not only do they have awesome prices, but they will also have a featured colored tag that is 50% off. They also have sales where everything in the store or all clothes are 50% off. The Thrifty Store has a rewards card where you can earn points for free stuff! Yeah, you have to dig through the racks and I don’t always find a deal, but I’ve scored more times than not.

I’ve lost about 90 lbs. in the past 2 years after my lapband surgery. So, if I was to buy a new wardrobe every time I lost weight, I’d be beyond broke! I find all kinds of brand name items in good condition including Liz Claiborne, Talbots, J Jill, Macy’s, JC Penney’s brands, etc. I even got a really nice Kathy Ireland couch for $150 that they cleaned and disinfected first. It was practically brand new! My Mom bought a recliner at a 50% off sale for $20!

This past weekend, Buddy and I went out shopping for him. He got a barely used Diego bike helmet, a pair of athletic pants, a dentist play dough set (including batteries in the drill & 2 of the 3 cans of play dough were never even opened!), a Connect Four game, play dough cookie cutters, 5 kid’s books and a Leapfrog driving toy (with batteries) for $22! You just can’t beat that!

Trust me, I was the oldest of 3 kids, so I never had hand me downs, let alone bought used clothes, so I had to warm up to the idea. I just wash or disinfect the items when I bring them home and we’re good to go! There are some things, like a bathing suit or underclothes that I wouldn’t consider buying used, but that’s about it. I’ve also had great luck with toys and books at yard sales and Craigslist. People spend tons and tons of money on brand new toys and then just want to unload them because they take up so much room. For instance I bought a Playskool toy at a garage sale that has little gears on it, spins around and plays music. It sells on Amazon for $22 and I got it for $2! I got a Rainforest Jumperoo that sells on Amazon for $100 for $30 on Craigslist. I just love a good deal!

Buddy has been asking for a bike, so that will be my next purchase. He is all set with his helmet, but they only had a girl’s bike at the thrifty store. So, on Craigslist there are a plethora of bikes that kids have outgrown. He’s only two, so I’m not sure if I’m going to go with a tricycle or a 12” bike with training wheels. There was someone with several different types, so I may take Buddy out there and see which one he likes!

Oh, and my husband told me that “Thrift Shop” by rapper Macklemore is the number one song in the country right now, so I’m trendy too!

 

Photo credit: ex.libris / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

Leave a Reply

