When Things Go Bump in the Night

Image

Buddy has sleep/night terrors. The poor thing doesn’t wake up, but screams out “No!” or cries. He is very restless and tosses and turns like crazy. Needless to say, my husband and I don’t sleep much either.

I read about the night terrors and I guess there is no way of comforting them, but how can I not at least go in and check on him? I’ll rub his back or his belly, stroke his hair and he blissfully drifts back off, but this will happen upwards of 5-6 times a night. Thankfully “experts” say that he shouldn’t remember the episodes, which is good, because being that he is only two, he wouldn’t really be able to express what happened in them anyway.

We do our best to keep a routine for him. He has two night lights, a sound machine and a turtle that projects stars on the ceiling. He comes home from daycare and plays with toys and watches the Disney Channel. We eat dinner. Then he plays some more. After, I give him a bath with lavender scented bubbles. Next, I lotion him all up and put on his pj’s. We read a book or two. Then we say the names of the things on his walls (Pooh, Tigger, Eeoyre, Piglet, Flowers, Bees, etc.). Then I say, “you had a good day today.” You did this and that, etc., recapping his day for him. I give him and his doggy, owl and star turtle a hug and kiss and put him down. If he fusses, I tell him that Mommy, Daddy, the kitties and doggy are here to keep him safe and we’ll be just downstairs.

I always ask him in the morning if he had a good night’s sleep and he’ll say yes, but he’s very crabby and clingy. So he either is not getting a good night’s sleep, or he’s like me and is NOT a morning person. Sometimes he won’t want anything to do with my husband, until he does something to make him laugh. That’s tough because I depend on him to help get Buddy ready in the morning so that I can walk the dog.

Anyway, I hope that Buddy will get a better night’s sleep soon. I think we have a good routine for him and it will just take a little time. He’s only been with us a short while and has had to make a lot of adjustments in his short life. He’s a good boy and I just want him to be happy.

Photo credit: thejbird / Foter.com / CC BY

4 thoughts on “When Things Go Bump in the Night

  1. Awwwh you sound like such a good mama for him. Poor boy getting night terrors- I’ve had them my whole life! I haven’t had one in a long time, but they are scary. I hope his go away! You sound like you’re doing all the right things to help him through them!

Leave a Reply

