Not My First Rodeo

Image

I got a phone call yesterday morning from the fertility clinic telling me I missed my appointment. I apologized to the nurse, saying that I meant to call, but was distracted by my new foster baby.

I informed her that I got my period on Saturday and I knew that I wasn’t pregnant, so I did not need to come in. She said that I did still need to come in. I asked why. She said to verify for their records! I said, “I’m telling you for your records, I’m not pregnant!” She said, “many women have bleeding and are still pregnant.” I said, “This is not my first rodeo! This is my fourth IUI. I think I’d know if I was pregnant or not. The nurse replied, “well, I’m going to mark in your file that you refused!” I said okay.

The nurse made me feel like I was in trouble in school and the principal was going to put it in my “permanent file?” Am I going to get detention? Are people going to whisper about me behind my back when I go to the office? “THAT’S the woman who didn’t want to get her blood work done!” Give me a break!

I understand that it was this nurse’s job to check on me and make sure I am following the procedures. However, it was bad enough to find out on Saturday that I wasn’t pregnant. I didn’t need that phone call from the nurse, while I’m at school with my students, telling me that I need to stop all medication because the results were negative.”

This was my fourth and last IUI attempt. While I’m sad that it didn’t work for me, it’s kind of a relief in a way to know that I don’t have to worry about the injections, the doctor’s appointments and the copays. Luckily I have a new little guy in my life that will keep me plenty busy! I would be perfectly happy adopting him and moving on with my life. We’ll have to see what happens.

Photo credit: Vince Alongi / Foter.com / CC BY

 

2 thoughts on “Not My First Rodeo

  1. My hubby and I had two baby girls in foster care come to us, and go away to family care in one month. Then, two months of no calls for children needing homes. I admit I hit a little desperate, and started the process to adopt an embryo. Glitch was, there was a chance for multiples. I brushed that aside, and started the process. Two days before I was supposed to do my trial transfer (with a one month deadline on the for real transfer), I got a call for a placement of a 3 mo. old baby, with a sibling on the way. Netherlands same weekend, the original two foster babies family found us, and started asking about us taking them back. That was four under 21 months old (and yes, we did that). I got the worst guilt trip when I called to cancel my appointment at the clinic, and when I explained I had four infants, they said, yes, but that’s foster care, and you don’t know if it will be forever. I said, “yea, I know, but its 11 am and I’ve already changed 12 diapers. I don’t think we’re going to agree on this, but I appreciate everything”! I hate those guilt trips and voices of condescension!

    • Hi Amanda,
      Welcome to my blog and thank you for commenting! That’s quite an experience! I’m glad I’m not the only one who has had trouble with the clinic nurses! Four babies! I find it a challenge chasing just one around! It’s definitely not easy being a foster parent, but having these amazing little people growing, learning and flourishing in your home, make it soooo worth it. My mom says, anyone can be a mother, but it takes someone special to be a mom and it sounds like you’re being an amazing one with the kids. I wish you and your husband the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

