Yes, I’m a Crazy Cat Lady, Get Over It!

christmas-tree-cat-styleWhen you look up Crazy Cat Lady online, I’m sure my picture is there. I started out innocently enough. When I got my first apartment out of college, I wanted some company, so I got a kitten. Well, 5 cats later, the title is starting to fit.

A stray cat had kittens in my Grandma’s wood pile. I helped find the kittens homes. One of them was a calico and reminded me of the cat I had when I was young. So, I had to have her to keep the other one company. You know the saying, “Cats are like potato chips, you can’t have just one!” Then a few years later, my other grandmother took in a stray cat that had kittens. So, I helped her find them homes. Well, the guy I was seeing at the time decided that he wanted one and who ended up with the cat when the relationship ended? Not him. A few years after that, a friend of mine had to move back home to Minnesota to take care of his elderly parents. I went with him to help him move. His cat had kittens and there was one left. His family had a farm and he was going to let the kitten live with the other barn cats. Well, after seeing the condition of these barn cats, I couldn’t leave the kitten there. So, yes, if you’re keeping track, that brought me up to 4 cats! Why can’t people just get their pets fixed!

When my husband and I decided to move in together after dating for a year, he said that I would have to leave 2 cats behind with my mom. My mom was only willing to take 1 cat. My husband also had a cat, so we were back up to 4. Then, when we moved into our house, a cat came walking in the front door one day. Apparently, the people who lived there before, left her behind. So, now we are up to 5 cats. I know what you’re thinking… that’s an insane number of cats in one house, but I’m a very clean person. So, it doesn’t smell like cat when you walk into my house. You don’t even see them half the time. There may be some pet hair, but that’s unavoidable.

I love my cats. I also have had a dog for about 5 years. They’re awesome company. They’re nonjudgmental and they’re low maintenance. They love unconditionally. Here is my fear. I had an aunt who never had kids. She had 7 miscarriages and was never able to go full term. She had cats and dogs that she doted on. They had birthday parties with cakes, party hats and presents. She had professional oil paintings made of them. They were her children. Then, when her last cat died and my uncle told her they were too old to care for any more pets, her health and mental status declined. She had no children to take care of her. We would take her food and plea with my uncle to get her some help or to get her another pet. Finally she was put into a nursing home where she died.

I would tease my husband before we started actively trying to conceive that he was turning into a crazy cat lady for telling pet stories to people. I didn’t want to end up like my poor aunt. Now that I’m in the process of my last IUI, I wonder if I will be like her after all. I don’t have birthday parties for my pets, but I dote on them. Now my first cat, the one who kept me company in my first apartment, is declining. He’s lost a lot of weight and he’s 15 years old. I don’t want to bring him to the vet because I don’t want to hear bad news. Yes, we’re still going on Saturday, the same day I’m getting inseminated again. Apparently I have good timing with these things.

I don’t care if I’m a crazy cat lady; he is my baby.

UPDATE: I ended up being inseminated on Monday instead of Saturday (Get results in 2 weeks on Feb. 25) and my cat will be okay. He has a tumor on his thyroid which can be regulated with medication. So hopefully he will be gaining weight and back to his old self in no time!

UPDATE 3/12/13: We put Tibby cat to rest yesterday. He was not getting any better, but was getting weaker and having a hard time eating and getting around. He was a good boy and I will miss him very much. He will always be my first baby.

Photo credit: aye_shamus / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

Leave a Reply

