Weighty Subject

I'm not fat, I'm Fluffy!

I’m not fat, I’m Fluffy!

I don’t know about you, but my body just isn’t the same as it was in my twenties. Not only has gravity done it’s thing, but my curves have been a little lumpier. Needless to say, I’ve had to make some life changes.

I decided that my weight and my health had gotten out of control. I had high blood pressure, low thyroid, high cholesterol¬† and I had pre-diabetes. I was the heaviest and largest size I’d ever been. I thought that I’d look into weight loss surgery since dieting didn’t seem to be working for me long term. I spoke to my doctor about it, went to a seminar and did my research.

I decided that I’d get the lapband. I had a cousin who had great success with it. As I mentioned before, I have been trying to get pregnant and they don’t recommend that you do that with the gastric bypass. Gastric bypass is also a much more invasive surgery and would require about a month out of work.

The lapband is done laproscopically. They make 3 to 5 small incisions, pull the band through and cinch it around a small piece of your stomach. I went home the same day and took about a week to recover. Every few months you can go to the doctors office and they can put a small amount of saline into the band, called a fill, to restrict you more, allowing you to lose more weight. There are many side effects however. Don’t get it done if you have acid reflux. If you didn’t know you had acid reflux, having lapband surgery is not a good way to find out. You have to take small bites and take breaks between bites. Otherwise you will regurgitate your food. This is not fun at restaurants. Don’t drink while you eat either or you will projectile vomit. You have to be careful what you eat as well. Foods like soft bread or pizza tend to stick in my throat, so I avoid them at all cost.

My husband has chosen to get gastric bypass surgery since he has many health issues as well. He knows that he has acid reflux and has much more weight to lose. Gastric bypass is when they detach your intestines from your stomach and bypass it altogether. He doesn’t get his surgery until April, so we’ll see how he does with it.

For me, it took a lot of practice. I was a fast eater who shoveled my food. I definitely can’t do that anymore. I have done a great job at eating healthier and I exercise everyday. I have lost a total of 70 lbs., but would still like to lose about 40 more. However, between breaking my ankle over the summer and having the foster baby, I was limited in when I could go to the gym and my weight has stayed the same for several months. I do walk the dog every day and I took an aerobics class once a week with a friend. I eat greek yogurt, lots of salads and vegetables, lean meats and brown rice. Now I don’t have an excuse, so I hope to keep on my weight loss journey!

Photo credit: Denube / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

Leave a Reply

